TWD: Baking with Julia – Chocolate Tartlets

Chocolate Tartlets. When I read, on Tuesdays with Dorie, that this was the baking project for the week, I was nervous. “What is a tartlet?” I asked myself. When embarking upon baking desserts, I usually go the more familiar direction of pie. Sometimes  I can squeak out a cake here and there, if I’m making it for someone on their birthday. But tartlets?

I have to stop there and share something I learned through the tartlet baking experience this week, in addition to the basic ‘how to bake tartlets’:

Don’t ever start baking on a Saturday morning before you’ve had some sit down time with a cup of coffee and a tasty breakfast.

It’s just not a good idea. It gets you started off on the wrong foot and you begin cursing your tartlet dough before you’ve even given it the tools it needs to come together. It doesn’t deserve that. And you don’t either. I had some challenges with this project. The major one was that I don’t own tartlet pans, and can’t find them in Nome stores…well, I tried two of the three. This is what I came up with instead:

After I got my crumbly dough mashed into my hand-made tartlet pans (a.k.a. aluminum foil rings,) and into the oven, I sat down and ate a great breakfast my husband had made. Egg white breakfast burritos! We had a lot of egg whites after all… After that, I approached making the filling with a fresh attitude. I loved melting all that chocolate. mmm…. Then of course the best part was eating them. I’m having one right now, as a matter of fact. I like to call mine Rustic Alaskan Tartlets. They still taste just as good, I’m thinking…

Here’s a link to recipe, if you’re looking to get yourself into it: http://spikebakes.tumblr.com/.  Or if you’re interested in getting in on all the action, check out the book, Baking with Julia Child, by Dorie Greenspan.

 

7 thoughts on “TWD: Baking with Julia – Chocolate Tartlets

  1. How cool that you improvised your own tartlet pans. And how cool to have a baker in Alaska in the group! Your tarts came out great. Thanks for baking along with me this week.

  2. I think you get extra credit points for making your own free form tart rings. And I agree, sometimes that morning breakfast & coffee is what kicks the grey matter into gear.

  3. Your tart pans are too cool! Good idea. I enjoyed finding your blog-I used to live in Alaska and look forward to hearing more about it and baking along with you!

Leave a Reply

